Community Organisations

Bookmark and Share

Our Councils for Voluntary Service offer support to all voluntary and community organisations in their area. They may also manage various projects, such as those that support Carers, or the elderly and can help anyone setting up a new project or community group, particularly offering advice on appropriate governance and fund raising.

The CVSs offer a clearing house for people who wish to volunteer and organisations who need a particular volunteer.

Many offer bespoke training courses and / or run an annual training programme.Workshops on fund raising, use of social media, motivations of volunteers may be of particular interest to the churches. As examples of training offered the 2017 information on the training programmes for North Devon Voluntary Services and Devon Communities Together can be found on our "Training page"

Devon Communities Together (formerly known as the Community Council for Devon) operates county wide and has a subtitle "helping communities help themselves". They are involved in a wide range of projects, pasrticularly in helping whole communities develop projects and working in areas such as the development of rural affordable housing, offering help with neighbourhood planning and offer many services and training that could be very helpful to churches.

Read the first LOVE Devon Newsletter here

Sign up to receive future editions here

Devon Voluntary Action is a partnership of voluntary organisations, particlualry bringing together the work of the various CVSs, and again operates county wide.

Each CVS operates across a particular district council area. To access some of their services you might need to be a member - but the annual subs are very modest.

Whilst some church work can be quite specific (such as the format for annual accounts and Safeguarding Policies), much of the work we need to do in runing our churches in terms of fund raising, running meetings, making the mkost of advertising opportuinities etc is similar for many voluntary organisations. Our county and district community support organisations are often under-used by churches, but offer a great service, and are available locally.

The websites, or other contact details, for all our Councils for Voluntary Service, Devon Communities Together and Devon Voluntary Action are given below.

Devon Communities Together

Devon Voluntary Action

Councils for Voluntary Service

Action East Devon

Chief Officer

Charlotte Hanson, charlotte.hanson@actioneastdevon.org.uk  

Development Officer

Sarah Reeves Sarah.Reeves@actioneastdevon.org.uk

Telephone

 01404 549 045

Website

www.edvsa.org.uk

Twitter

@ActionEDevon

Facebook

Action East Devon

 

Exeter CVS

Chief Officer

Simon Bowkett, simon.bowkett@exetercvs.org.uk  

Telephone

 01392 202055

Website

www.exetercvs.org.uk

Twitter

@ExeterCVS

Facebook

Exeter CVS

 

 

Involve Voluntary Action in Mid Devon

Chief Officer

Karen Nolan, karen@involve-middevon.org.uk  

Development Officer

Mark Bailey, mark@involve-middevon.org.uk

Telephone

 01844 255734

Website

www.involve-middevon.org.uk

Twitter

@InvolveMD

Facebook

Involve Voluntary Action Mid Devon

 

 

 

North Devon Voluntary Services (NDVS)

Chief Officer

Hilary Burr, hilary@ndvs.org.uk

Development Worker

Lyn Winter, lyn@ndvs.org.uk

Telephone

01271 866300

Website

www.ndvs.org.uk

Twitter

@NDVS

Facebook

North Devon Voluntary Services

 

South Hams Community and  Voluntary Services

Chief Officer

Jill Davies jill@southhamscvs.org.uk

Group Development Officer

Adrian Cable adrian@southamscvs.org.uk

Telephone

01803 862266

Website

www.southhamscvs.org.uk

Twitter

@SouthhamsCVS

Facebook

South Hams CVS

 

 

Teignbridge Community and  Voluntary Services

Chief Officer

Sue Wroe chiefexec@teigncvs.org.uk

Funding Advisor

David Cox funding@teigncvs.org.uk

Telephone

01626 326120

Website

www.teigncvs.org.uk

Twitter

@teigncvs

Facebook

Teignbridge CVS

 

Torridge CVS (TTVS)

Chief Officer

Julia Lock, Julia@carewise.org.uk   

Funding Advice

administrator@torridgecvs.org.uk

Telephone

01237 420130

Website

www.torridgecvs.org.uk

 

 

West Devon Community and  Voluntary Services

Chief Officer

Karen Nolan karen@westdevoncvs.org.uk 

Development Worker

Francesca Bliss Francesca@westdevoncvs.org.uk 

Telephone

01837 53392

Website

www.westdevoncvs.org.uk

Twitter

@WDCVS